The advantages of using social networking

February 17, 2010 at 9:42 am (Networking) (, , , , , , )

Twitter is a great way to, flat out, get your ideas, music, material, etc. out there. by simply tweeting a short blog about what your band is doing or what kinds of art you may be trying to sell. It is also a wonderful way to “follow” your favorite artist or band and see what they may be up to at any given time. It’s also very helpful because you can include a hyperlink to any site that you want your followers to check out.

Flickr on the other hand is pretty limited in the fact that you can only upload photos. This wouldn’t be very helpful to me since I mostly deal with music and videos. I most likely won’t use this site at all.

I already created a YouTube account prior to this assignment but only have uploaded one video. You may have checked this video out if you have been following my blogs. It’s the one where we’re tracking drums for POI. This is a very helpful tool although my views have been stuck at 304 for about 2 weeks now and I’m not very happy with that. I’ve heard of this happening before and you would think that they could find a way to fix the problem.

Vimeo seems like a pretty cool idea with the 720p resolution and 500mb of storage per week although I think I would rather just use YouTube for the small amount of video I post.

Either way all of the available online media networks are just another way to spread the news about what you are trying to do so they could all potentially be beneficial. By posting on each individual site you are also multiplying the chance that someone out there is going to stumble across your stuff and hopefully dig it.

Leave a comment